Bill The Cat

By billthecat

Walking barefoot in the snow

Explore the rush of walking in the snow.

I'll go for this as my entry for this weeks blip challenge 'Bare' theme. Quite invigorating setting it up.

Turns out there is a group of people who do this for fun, Barefoot Walkers.

One of them says, "I walk barefoot everyday including the winter. I have suffered frostbite and frost nip when out in temps below 12f. I am now more careful when walking and keep an eye on the color of my toes, red and pink are good colors, as they show circulation. When your toes turn white you need to rewarm them as they'll soon begin to freeze. I will return to a warm place or slide some shoes on and continue walking. When my toes warm up I start snowfooting again. Wet slush is the hardest to stay warm on because of it's conductivity. My circulation can't keep up with the rate of heat loss. 30 minutes on the snow can be comfortable if the conditions are right - sunny skies - packed snow - and good aerobic activity. Circulation is the key and controling the rate of heat loss."

Nutters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.