Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

G.T.Hawkins Northampton - how rare?

My younger son is preparing for a trip with his school to Ladhak on the borders of Tibet, for which he needs a pair of boots.

Whilst researching boots I came across a forum talking about Hawkins boots, the quality and the tragedy that the factory has closed and the skills lost.

I bought my pair over 30 years ago at eyewatering expense. I cannot guess how many miles they have done. I lived in them thru' university.

The eagle eyed will notice no stitching in the uppers. All one piece of leather, cut from a section of the hide from the top of the back where the cow can't scratch and damage the skin.

They have been resoled twice which isn't up to standard and with great regret it is time to retire them.

Hugo's feet however are the same size as mine! Now then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.