GeeCee's blips

By grandecheese

I lived here - 40 years ago!

It's No. 6, Eastgate Street, Aberystwyth - the blue building. It used to be an empty bakery - Slaters (who're now in the main street of Aberystwyth) - and we lived in the two floors above; now the ground floor is occupied by Aberdashery - a rather good name for a drapery shop I thought.

The first year of my postgrad years was spent in this freezing cold, damp and generally uncomfortable building with Alan, John and Derek. Happy days.

Jenny and I spent some time revisiting some of our haunts - The White Horse is now The Varsity, The Central where I first drank (and began to enjoy) Malt Whisky is now Salt (why ??), but many of the same places are little changed. Why should I be surprised?

Aber was (and is) an important part of my past. I'll no doubt return many times again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.