My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

Trusting The Ice.

I was dug out for a walk by the frozen reservoir today, and of course we had to have a go on the ice.

After a few steps I heard a crack and nipped back to shore, sharpish, took this photo and then when Lucy saw a crack went very weedy and asked them to get off it, quickly!

It was silent out there. There were a couple of dozen birds clustered on a tiny bit of unfrozen water, way out of sight. The ice went on for miles.
I have not known it so still since my son & I went there for the eclipse all those years ago. All birdsong stopped then, and there was an instant chill. But it was in mid summer and only lasted a few minutes. This was dead planet chilled.

After a good walk today we nipped to a busy pub which was dark and shut. Adding to the feel of abandonment. It was very beautiful though. On of my first trips out in it. I have not had my usual childish delight in the snow etc.
It is threatening to mess up a lot of family Christmas plans, both for my young and my self. I am a bit over snow now.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.