John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

I should like to say a word...

I should like to say a word - but it's a bad word, so I won't!

5:49 - woke up, as one does. So on my way back looked out the spare room window. As clear a moon as you could begin to imagine. Now this is exciting! Took a quick snap!

This morning there is to be a lunar eclipse - admittedly, while it is full across North America, in Edinburgh it is only going to be partial and at the begining of the cycle.

The moon will slip into the earth's shadow - and we are going to be treated to the most amazing of celestial displays.

So, tripod comes out, and everything is set up. Time for breakfast - porridge, banana - onto Blipfoto to enjoy the overnights... Write a quick note or two. Time is coming up - no rush though, because it will take a few minutes from the start time to become really apparent. News from the front! #3 daughter appears to say that she looked out, just saw the beginning of a shadow on the left side of the lunar disc - and almost instantly cloud cover rolled across the sky! No! Ran upstairs, and it's all true. Thick cloud which stops just short of the horizon, but which blocks out the moon.

The thing is that the lunar eclipse and the solstice are on the same day! I have no idea what that means - although I have at least one friend who will get inordinately excited about that. But anyway, I'm sure it is rare if nothing else.

Actually, I understand that the next time it happens will be on December 21, 2094. I will set my alarm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.