Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

A not so relaxing evening

We've had our friends K and D staying with us and for the first time in about a week I had the house to myself for a while. Great! I'll have a nice glass of wine and curl up on the sofa with my laptop and catch up on my telly. Mobile's on the seat next to me just in case anyone needs me, all I need to do nows is kick my feet up and relax.

*CLUNK*

What was that? Shifting my weight to get off the sofa, the chair didn't drop back from fully reclined. That's odd, has the mechanism broken? Lying on my front on the floor, peering in to the darkness to try and see what's happened I decide I need some light. Right, where's my phone? Oh No!

Grabbing the landline I called my mobile. OH NO! The sofa's ringing! Setting up my S.A.D lamp so I could see, I was faced with the vision above. My phone was well and truly wedged between the mechanism for the foot rest, right at the back of the sofa. In my panic I ring The Boy who's on his way to his work's Christmas do. I'm told in no uncertain terms that I should just leave it where it was, not touch it and get help when someone was home. After all, we don't want the foot rest slamming down on my head or fingers getting caught in mechanisms, or sofas falling on me.

So I rang my dad. Again, it was decided that it was probably best if I wait until there were others to help. But I got a text message!

Carefully easing the sofa away from the wall I remembered that the back fabric was just velcroed in place. With a clearer view and not needing to be on my belly under the sofa I was able to reach in and very carefully ease it out of the mechanism. Huge scratch in the metal casing on the back but thankfully not a single mark on the touch screen.

Ringing The Boy back to let him know, I was sternly told that maybe now was the time to consider fitting the military grade anti-scratch guard that we'd bought for it when I got the phone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.