Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Road Trip

I rented a car to head out of town to participate in an e-commerce/website navigation study... I reserved the car last week but when I called this morning to check on the reservation, they didn't have a car available for me. Fortunately, I didn't really need the car until later in the day, but not getting the car first thing in the morning meant having to stay home to wait for their call. I was not happy. As some sort of payback, they upgraded the car but frankly, all that meant is that I'll have to replace more fuel prior to bringing it back. Some favour!

Well, prior to hitting the road, I selected a dozen or so CDs to take with me, but for the most part played only two during the two-hour round-trip trek; two of the finest records in rock history, in my opinion: Pete Townshend's All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes and The Police's Synchronicity.

The administrator for the study was an online friend who I'd not met previously. She knew I lived relatively close to her company's headquarters (where the study was being held) and e-mailed an invitation to participate. Afterwards we had a lovely dinner at a nearby Japanese restaurant (chicken teriyaki for me), and chatted a bit about failed marriages and a seemingly failing one.

In what seemed like no time at all, she was headed to the airport and I was headed to the highway, each of us making our ways home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.