CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Making friends

There was a hint of a thaw this morning as I traipsed along Horns Road on my way to town. I literally slipped into Dave's Views back gate and went up through their delightful garden, past fruit trees, the greenhouse, several compost bins and a new bird feeing table, which is very busy.

I had a memory stick full of local history data that I've collected in the last couple of years, which I am glad that Dave is also apparently interested in. I was invited in for coffee and immediately caught the aroma of cooking, one of Dave's passions I'd say. Today he was preparing pasties, and the latest one's which came out of the Aga in front of me, were filled with smoked mackerel and probably beetroot, which you can see dribbling down the sides of them in the picture. The recipe was from Elizabeth David so they come with a pedigree. On the big wooden kitchen table were some earlier pasties made from salmon, destined for the meal table in a couple of days; mmmmmm!

Dave said he didn't mind being a blip subject and I wanted to get the pasties into shot as well, but I couldn't retreat far enough in the kitchen to let you see all of him. Unfortunately you also can't clearly make out the wonderful Aga branded metal trowel (I can't think of a suitable name for it) which I presume is used for retrieving loaves of bread from the hot oven. You can see it just behind Dave's right ear.

We hope to go for a walk together soon with dailykeith, when conditions are right. It feels really good to have fellow blippers to share photography and more with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.