A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Simulacrum

I was trying to take a photo of a gigantic icicle and when I looked at the photo I saw 
this angelic figure had appeared, like a cardinal with an old-fashioned cardinals hat. 
I didn't see the figure when I took the photo.

Okay, obviously it is just an effect from the sun that just looks like a man wearing a 
hat. This is called a simulacrum which is something that looks like something 
else. We have a tendancy to see faces and figures, particularly human ones, where
none exist. This is known as paradolia and is very common. Who hasn't spent time 
looking for shapes in clouds or fires? And I am sure we have all appreciated the 
"Jesus in toast" photo's that do the rounds on the internet every so often.  It is also
a fairly common cause of "ghost" photographs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.