'im indoors

By imindoors

The Smallest of Things.

Everything seemed to go swimmingly this morning with the Big Food Shop. Sainsbury's was fairly quiet at 9am. Everything was in stock, everything on the list had been ticked and double-ticked by the 'List Freak'. She only had one vague moment, but that always happens at the yoghurt aisle, when she stands staring aimlessly into space until I gently take her by the arm and drag her back into reality.
It wasn't until we got home that she realised we'd forgotten pine nut kernels. No problem, Joe at our corner shop always comes up trumps with such items.

And he did. Great.....but then he started chatting about how the Chinese had stopped exporting them. 'They've got control of the world's pine nuts and are holding on to them. Pine nuts and lithium.'
Lithium?
He handed me a 100g bag of pine nuts (ie very, very small) and finished off with '.....so now they cost £4.99 instead of last weeks £1.99'.

It made me feel quite upbeat that I had something to be p***ed off about. Just imagine how I'd felt if I'd forgotten to buy the lithium too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.