Gifts of Grace

By grace

Just

Just three swans at sunset - poppa, momma and baby cygnet. I love seeing swans and I love feeding them even more. So I raced off to buy some bread. By the time I'd caught up with them they were in the West Bay by the pier, where hordes of seagulls, ducks and crows congregate.

I had this lovely image of feeding these three beauties as they glided serenely on the water. Not. I have never seen such a feeding frenzy. The poor swans were trampled underfoot as ducks and seagulls landed on their backs and heads making off with most of the loaf. I fancy these were particularly unassertive swans, though they were far outnumbered. The best laid plans. Should have bought six loaves. Next time.

Edit: I should point out that this was taken before I got the bread. I took pics of the feeding frenzy - but it was not a pleasant sight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.