Land of Enchantment

By Laurel

Kimo Theater Downtown Albuquerque

I had lunch downtown with my friend Rahim Alhaj and Adele. We are the board of Ur Music and Culture. We got business done and while the rain dame down. When we left the sun came out, so I dropped by the Kimo Theater to snap a few pictures before heading back to the office. I love this place. It's a "pueblo deco" style theater with murals ant Native America style decoration inside.

I think it was in danger of being demolished at some point like the Alvarado Hotel, but unlike the hotel, citizens saved the beautiful old theater. For years the Kimo was mostly empty. Very few performances ever happened there. The new city administration is changing all that. Now lots of opera, ballet, concerts, simulcasts and other things are going on. It's good to see the Kimo come alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.