Poppy

By Poppy

What a day . . . .

Been another busy day today, and a horrid one as well. A family who lived on the island who moved away, leaving their peacock behind. For the last few years he has survived quite happily, foraging around farm buildings, in fields and not causing any bother to anyone. Today, I had to go into the hospital to get my eyes checked, post operation. On the way in I saw the peacock, sitting at the side of the road. He didn't move, so I got out to see what was up. Both his legs were broken. There was alot of blood. I wrapped him in a towel in the back of the car and whizzed into the vets. I asked them to see if they could do anything, but after x-raying him they said one leg was too badly damaged and couldn't do fixed so he would have to be put down.

This beautiful, poor bird has fended for himself for years. Somebody in a car has hit him and left him. He was a huge, brightly coloured bird, they knew they had hit him, but they left him. It is a small island and this was on a quite road. My blood is still boiling.

This evening I went back into the town for a carol service at church, where I sung a solo, which was wonderfully well received. Considering I hadn't heard the carol since last week I was pretty impressed myself!

ps Eyes got the all clear! Phew, don't want to go through that again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.