Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

I Robot

Robot repairing can be challenging at times. Kind of a Logan's Run feel.

Good after Christmas Sunday...


Worth Enlarging

Caution Tech Stuff:

Today's blip is a little trip into SciFi. Everything here is separately photographed.

The first part is this rather cool work light that I got as a Christmas present from my pal GQ. I started with some black cloth with a piece of glass on it and photographed the light. I shot 2 focus points and blended them together so everything was in focus.

Next I shot a little toy robot that my grandsons gave me for Christmas. To bad I can't show you a video but it can dance funky when you wind it up.

I shot 3 images of a the display of my Fluke voltmeter for extra background and a shot of my bench tool box.

Against a white background I shot myself and then a screen to go on my laptop.

All the pieces were removed (masked) from there backgrounds and placed into position.

Because I wanted to give this a very modern look it needed a shinny floor and that's why I shot the original on glass. Since everything else was not on glass I needed to make reflections. Each item was duplicated into a new layer of it's own. Using the transform command these copies were flipped vertically and positioned below their counterparts. I adjusted each ones opacity down to 30%.

I then pulled a crop and did selective sharpening since some things needed more and some less.

The whole thing was a great fun to make and took over and hour plus. This write up takes some time also trying to remember all the steps. Did I remember them all? No but I do like the way it turned out.

Great lessons learned but not practiced: "GLASS MUST BE CLEANED" I cleaned the glass (floor) before I shot it but still had to clean it in Photoshop. Black glass can never look clean.... Enjoy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.