The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Dickens

"He told me, only the other day, that it was provided for. That was Mr Micawber's expression, 'Provided for.'" - Charles Dickens, David Copperfield, Chapter 28

*

In July when I visited my friend Pinky in upstate New York, we took a gander down at a couple of antique bookstores in the neighboring county.

Among other finds, I happened on this (American) Globe edition of Charles Dickens' David Copperfield published in 1874 by Hurd & Houghton, and quickly snapped it up.

This was my Christmas present to the hubby.

Here it is in all its splendor. There was even a newspaper clipping from 1876 tucked into the back pages.

*

On another note: we were snowed in all of yesterday-- got at least 18 inches of snow, though the local weather stations insist it is "8 t0 10" (see here, they had better get out and take a walk around).

Youngest daughter and her BFF had a blast in the afternoon, trying to build an igloo outside, and generally making a mess in the snow. Here are a couple of snow photos I took last night.

*

Post-postscript:

For those of you who might have enjoyed reading some of my Morning Porch-inspired poems on Via Negativa, here is a link to some of the latest ones. Writing and creative collaborations, make me happy.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.