Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Together

With the snowstorm we had just before Christmas, and the roads uncleared, we weren't sure it would be possible to spend Christmas day together. Mercifully, the snow slowed down and my sister's family were able to get here so we could open our presents and enjoy a big lunch together. I was very grateful for this, knowing full well there were thousands of others stranded in airports and motorways, far away from their loved ones.

Our Christmas meal was Bollywood by way of Barcelona. I decided to make something completely different from the traditional Christmas roast everyone was accustomed to. We started with Jamón ibérico and Spanish olives and other nibbles. Then I served a murgh makhanwala (butter chicken), potato and spinach aloo, hot mango chutney and pulao rice with peas. It took 2 days to make everything from scratch, but I adore this kind of cooking. To gild the lily, we had Chocolate Seduction cake for dessert with small cups of thick hot chocolate. It was all very good and, predictably, we were all groaning by the end of it, swearing we would never eat again.

I took lots of pictures of the day but liked this one best. In it, my sister (back to camera) and brother-in-law help one of their twin daughters to try on a pair of earrings they gave her for Christmas, while the other twin and my daughter (in blue hoodie) look straight at the camera.

Our children are having so much fun with their cousins - a huge treat for them as we have no family closeby. I love seeing them together and observing how alike they are.


~ a backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.