Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Requiem

Nothing special in the way of a blip today. I mentioned that my best friend's mother passed away on Christmas Eve. Well the funeral was today and we have just come back from the graveyard, so today's photo is simoly the Bermingham family grave where Eamonn's mother, Marcella, has just been laid to rest.

Eamonn was my best man at our wedding two and a half years ago so he is the sort of close friend for whom I feel particularly sad, especially as it is Christmas time.

A note for my Finnish friends : You will notice that the funeral followed very soon after the death. Unlike in Finland, funerals are always held as soon as this here in Ireland. I know it must seem strange to you but the way you handle funerals seems equally strange to the Irish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.