running towards nothing

By rtn

Misty Mochrum Loch

Today's expedition was a quest to find Belted Galloway cattle, which turned into an epic journey through foggy moorland reminiscent of the Grimpen Mire in the Hound of the Baskervilles. We got hopelessly lost (twice) but stopped for a very nice lunch at the Creebridge Hotel in Newton Stewart and carried on. When we eventually found the herd we were looking for, it was so foggy I could hardly see them and they turned and ran off as I approached (result here).

Perseverance is rewarded, however, and along the way I managed to take some good shots of the river at Bladnoch and this one at Mochrum Loch, a popular fishing spot in summer that looked like a lake from Arthurian legend today. I think we made the best of a very murky day but I'm glad to be back in the warm with a mince pie now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.