Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Bridge over troubled styrofoam

Today - now for something completely different. Thank you Monti. I carved out the rough form for the end of a river or wet depression. The bridge was test fit but will rest on two plaster abutments. There is also another track that needs to cross just behind, and it will be over a scratch built (no-kit) trestle. I am going to model a trestle on the DRG+W line near town - a bunch of large timbers spanning between concrete piers with the track laid on top. SImple. Hope to get a photo tomorrow for the blip of this trestle. Then I need to buy some scale sized lumber. They used 8 by 18 inch pieces!

So next step is to carve out the land form more realistically and test fit the bridge piers. I need to finish this scene with water and weeds etc before I can lay the track over it as once the bridges are in place it gets very hard to work underneath without ruining the models.

Once the styrofoam is carved - and I patch the hole made with an over-zealous knife thus the title "over troubled styrofoam" - I will cover it with sculturemold - a sort of paper mache substance. This will form the base to paint and scenic with rocks, weeds, and then acrylic water. Lots to do. Need a place for my little fisherman to be standing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.