Day by day

By LizzieBeattie

Mist over the Quays

What a day! I went to the Trafford Centre to collect an order. Well, that was a waste of time as I never got close enough to park. The queues were horrendous.

But, in getting there I had crossed the Bridgewater Canal and I saw that the canal was full of mist. It gets like that when you are skiing late in the season. A blast of warm air blows over the snow and you get a layer of mist, not too high, which is the snow melting. So I went home and got the camera and went back to the Quays where the mist was spectacular. The water here in some of the basins was still frozen and tower blocks seemed to have no base, just fog. The ducks and Canada geese were slippy sliding across the ice, trying to be the first to catch the crumbs which people were throwing them.

This picture of the bridge between the Lowry and the War museum side took my fancy and here it is. There's an ice skating rink down there too, I must go back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.