LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Son et Lumière

I spent ages trying to get a decent framing of the monument where the fireworks were scheduled to be launched. This turnned out to be because either my tripod needs some nuts tightening or I need a new tripod. Just after setting it it seems to be dropping slightly which is rather annoying.

Any how I got set up, took some shots to make sure I was all framed and exposed correct and duly waited in the cold for the Torchlight Procession to reach Calton Hill, watched the Vikings burn a longboat, listened to the pipers play a small medley that seemed to include a rendition of John Cage's 4'33",though not the full version. And then there were fireworks to the left of me and fireworks to the right of me and even fireworks in the sky above me but no fireworks in front of me. After a minute or so I thought balls to patience and swiveled round to the right to try and capture the lighthouse surrounded in a particlarly fine spray of sparklyness when of course they all stopped and proceeded to shoot up from behind the monument. The net result being some fairly poor shots of fireworks. This being Edinburgh there sill no doubt be plenty of opportunity to get foreworks shots in the not too distant future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.