The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blue Bay

Morecambe and Heysham seen across Morecambe Bay.

When we had the earth tremor ten days ago, our friend Simon's first thought was that the nuclear reactor at Heysham had gone up. Jean and the other Simon thought that Sellafield had exploded. I thought Wifie was moving furniture around upstairs. First impressions are often wrong.

Anyway, here is Heysham in the morning shortly after sunrise. The bay was bathed by blue light, the water was perfectly calm, and the wind was breathless. Only the wigeons' whistles and the redshanks' melancholy teu-hu's disturbed the air.

So, here ends another year. I had a resolution in 2010 that I very nearly kept: to walk at least a mile every day. I did walk daily throughout the first 6 months, whatever the weather and sometimes at night in the rain. I started carrying a small camera and gradually took more and more photos. Then in July bwhere introduced me to Blipfoto, and I found an outlet for the daily walk photos. Within a short time, the photo became the object of the walk. But I started noticing a lot more, and my enjoyment of the walk increased. Blipmania grew and occasionally I stopped the car, took my photo and distractedly forgot about the walk. Not so good, must improve in 2011.

Happy New Year to everyone in Blipworld. See you in 2011.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.