While on my runs

By waipushrink

The first day of the rest of my life

Although I have a tendency to regard most days as just another day (with the importance of various days being that given by those important to me), there is something special about the self evaluation many of us do at this time of the year.

Looking back, I can regard 2010 as a year in which I refound parts of my self which had been put aside in my battle with funny rhythms. This past year has been the first time in years that I have trusted that that has been dealt to. I have steadily regained the ability to run with comfort for up to an hour (walking the uphills nowadays!). My great companion and support of more than 40 years (S) is similarly finding a path through her difficulties, and achieving some success with her poetry.

This image, captured only a half hour or so ago, is one that fills me with hope for the year to come. It is at sunset, looking east from the deck across Kawau Bay to Tauwharanui Peninsula with Little Barrier Island in the distance beyond. I have made no modifications. (Although I had some photos from the morning run, this one reflects my mood best.)

A year ago, I took a photo (not dissimilar to that I posted as my blip for 23 December) and saw it as promising a great year. While not a great year, it has been in its way a positive one, hence the attraction to the greater gentleness in this image.

I have found joining blipfoto to be a very positive and outward looking experience, and I have enjoyed seeing the photographs of others, and reading bits about the blippers. Some; I feel as if I am getting to know you. To all who read this: a very prosperous (personally) New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.