Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

A Day Of Firsts

To start with it's the first day of a new year. The first day of a new decade. And most importantly, of course, it's my first entry ( or do we call it a blip? ) here on Blipfoto.

A few months ago when I first found out about this site, I decided i would try and produce an image-a-day throughout 2011. Firstly, because it was going to be a creative challenge. Secondly, to see if it would have a positive or negative effect on the quality of my work. And thirdly, I hope it shall become a site that I can enjoy posting new work on, alongside discovering the work of other photographers and blippers (is that the right term?) When I recently confided to a handful of people that i was going to do this and then posted notice of this on my website, i knew I couldn't back out of it. Over the last few days i have to admit to becoming more nervous about doing this, but I hope what you see over the next twelve months will be an accurate representation of my work, but also of me as a person.

So, here is my first image. Sorry, it's a bit stereotypical isn't it for the first day of a new year? The old discarded beer bottles. It was originally my intention to take you over to a park called Telegraph Hill which is a mile or so's walk from my home in Brockley in South East London. It has been described as having one of the best views of the city and on a clear day you can see Hampstead way off on the other side of the Thames. Sadly, today the entire view was obliterated by rain and mist and not even Canary Wharf or the rest of the expanse of the city was visible through my lens. For the time being you shall have to take my word for it, that this park holds such a wonderful view. But, I'm sure we'll come back here some sunny day...




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.