surely you can see

By petergarver

I read a great idea on strobist suggesting throwing a flash on a lightstand pointed at the ceiling for taking snapshots on Christmas Day. I wouldn't have thought of it, and it looked great. I think the only reason this light looks unnatural to me is that I know this room, and I've spent 27 years experiencing its awful light, and to see people so nicely lit in it is disturbing.

This is everyone gathered around the book of pictures of Laura and her cat Whisper that I gave her today. It was well-received, but the reason I'm posting this picture of it is that I really, really enjoyed making the book (not just because of the subject matter), and I recommend throwing together a little photobook sometime just for fun. Or for a gift, for which it works very nicely. Incidentally, as luck would have it, the book is open to the weakest page. (The books I'm referring to are print-on-demand books printed on real printing presses - they look just like traditional bookstore books, but are available in runs of 1 for about twice what a mass-published book would cost (plus you provide the content - not cheap, but nice.))

I'll be in Pennsylvania for the rest of the year, so have a good week! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.