dailykeith

By dailykeith

Ships

I made the long journey to Dorset today to see my elderly parents. It's such an exhausting drive - along winding roads without a motorway in sight - that I completely forgot about taking a photo until the minute I was packing up to come home again.

So I took a snap of my dad's collection of model ships. He has a display case full of them.

They live in the most idyllic place, surrounded by fields and woods. But the other side of that particular coin is that it is hopelessly isolated. It means, for example, that broadband access is non-existent. More significantly, my parents are very isolated when they have the sort of weather we've been having these past few weeks.

The neighbours have rallied round to help them, but it's worrying nonetheless.

Anyway, we had a nice day ('we' being Mrs Dailykeith and our eldest son). A good way to start a new year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.