cyclops

By cyclops

Another thank-you

As well as my lovely new iPod, my family bought me many thoughtful gifts. I received a number of interesting old books, which I love. My wife got me an old Jaques Cousteau book, and a 1958 BSAC diving manual (I am a keen diver, and goodness how things have changed!).

My Blip today is a gift from parents though. It's a copy of a book written by my Grandfather and first published 1942, describing how to make a variety of photographic enlargers out of plywood. It was clearly popular at the time, this being a 11th edition printed 16 years on in 1958. He was always amused that a book he wrote as a hobbyist far outsold his professional publications (he was a Geneticist long before this was a mainstream field of study as it is today). A previous owner of this book clearly made good use of it, as it contains folded sheets which have been measured out as templates for cutting wooden parts.

So it's another "Thank you" Blip from me today!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.