secret garden

By freespiral

Abandoned buildings 1: the small farm

Dull and grey but a walk has been taken.  Inspired by the book Abandoned Mansions of Ireland  I have grand plans of photographing all the abandoned buildings I can find on the Sheepshead! Well, maybe not all, but quite a few of them. I think it could be quite important as there are an awful lot of different buildings - schools, churches, cottages, mansions, pubs - slowly being reclaimed by the undergrowth. Very few buildings, however grand or significant, are protected but even 'ordinary' ones need to have some sort of recognition that they were once there, so I have started off with a very modest but very typical building. I was actually blipping something else (more of that later) when I spotted this little farm down a boreen (green road). As is often the case, a spanking and not very tasteful new bungalow had been built on the land and the original farmhouse was being left to decay. I crept down the boreen - himself remained at the top saying I was being embarrassing and the old boy may still be resident - and was delighted to find everything intact - house, yard, out-buildings. The roof was still on and it was slightly possible that it could have still been inhabited, there was a definite  'air'. I liked this old sash window - the lace curtains are still hanging, but best of all was the thermometer still in place and still working - 6C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.