Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Someone else must have got our sun today!

I was expecting the sun to shine, at least that's what the weather forecast said but I think someone else must have got it today because we certainly haven't seen any. At least dull weather brings out the bright colours on people's clothing! I've blipped this avenue of lime trees on a previous family outing to Cannon Hall, though back in October there were still autumn leaves on the trees. Today it felt much bleaker.

Reaching one hundred does feel a bit special (though I'm not sure whether I'm breaking blipfoto rules today by creating this kind of photomontage). I originally joined because a friend who now lives in Spain had started a journal and I thought it would be a really good way of keeping in touch. I also felt it would encourage me to keep a journal for me. Occasionally on holiday I'd done some journalling but never attempted to keep one on a daily basis before.

I was warmly welcomed to the site and warned on my very first blip that it could get seriously addictive - well I'm definitely addicted, especially to journals that combine good photography with a really good story. When I joined the geographer in me was definitely interested in looking at photographs from different parts of the world and in gaining insight into different lives. I still think it's amazing that I can do this - so thank you everyone for the stories you so generously share. I've also got a softspot for wildlife photography and tend to home in on these particular thumbnails. I've learnt so much in just a short space of time and thanks to NZ blippers I'm now awating delivery of my lensbaby (a late Christmas present).

A special thank you to everyone who has left me comments during the last ninety-nine days - you have been so encouraging and have definitely helped to support my addiction. My thanks also go to the people at blipcentral who set up the site and keep it running so effectively - I thought that you were worth supporting with my subscription from the word go. If I have one New Years Resolution it will probably be to keep my addiction to blip under control so that I don't lose touch with other things in my life, like going to the gym and printmaking!

It's good to feel part of a very special community - thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.