round the side of beyond

There ought to be a word for the sensation of correction/realisation experienced after taking a new route (particularly a cut-through or purported or speculative shortcut) which turns our to end up somewhere quite different from where you thought you were going to emerge back into already-mentally-mapped space, often exacerbated by overestimations of orthogonality. Whilst I don't bother with resolutions based on horological parcellations imposed by our strange midwinter year-number-change much as I don't feel the need to spend the hours around the precise moment of change inebriating myself I made an effort today to get out and do what I haven't managed to do for a while and popped out for a trundle for trundling's sake including popping along a road I've never previously been down (as far I can remember) and clearing up the start and end points of one of the nice purple bits on the Spokes maps, the vague location of which I was aware of but which I'd never had any need to investigate in the flesh and which I had therefore never particularly closely looked at on the map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.