Tuscany

By Amalarian

KISMET

I'm sorry about this spider, but it's fate.

I joined blip a year ago as of yesterday. I didn't get up the courage to upload a picture until February so I have a way to go before I hit 365. The first picture was really bad. It was of a big spider that appeared on my desk.

Forget that, my membership was due again yesterday. The cheque is in the post!
While on the subject, I'd like to point out that the cost of full membership works out at 52 P per week, less than the price of a postage stamp anywhere in the world. Where else can you find self-improvement motivation, good will, pleasure, anxiety and stress all at once for 52 P? I'd like to urge all those who use blip regularly to become full members.

Now, to the above pic. I don't know if it's the same spider but it was on my computer when I came back from the river where I went to photograph birds. No birds. All other shots were boring. As I was downloading this boring stuff something in the upper right hand of my computer screen caught my eye. Spider. It remained motionless as desk saver pics floated under it. I took some shots but it was back lit. I moved a light onto it and got two shots before she moved his legs over her beady little eyes and turned into a very boring, camera shy spider. The yellow light of the desk lamp turned her from russet to orange.

I'm not superstitious, it says here, but the spider's arrival could mean if I don't blip it I'll never get to 365 or if I do, I won't. It's a lose-lose situation.

The spider is 5 cm -- 2 inches -- from leg tip to leg tip. I have no idea what kind she is. And, no sooner had I typed that sentence than she vanished.

For the record: The sun is shining! It was +1 C when we went out this morning with a very icy wind. Looked for veggies in town, nothing but brassicas by way of green things. Christmas tree out. The house is still a tip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.