Sweetie

By sweetie

Still all wrapped up

My gran passed away on Christmas Day, so her Christmas present is still wrapped up under the wee tree.

She was staying with relatives, and on Christmas morning my 8 year old cousin went into her room with gifts to wake her. She had died in her sleep sometime in the early hours.

My dad is distraught. He lost his father a few years ago, just before Christmas, so this was too much to take. Christmas day was obviously a write off, although my mum decided to cook dinner anyway since we needed to eat and most of it had been cooked in advance.

We eventually opened our presents after dinner, and in with mine there was a card from my gran which she must have put in without anyone seeing. It was one of those 'granddaughter' cards, but she had written on it "and grandson", meaning my fiance. A very nice thing to write, and all the more poignant since she won't see us get married.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.