the digressing room

What began as the room in which we stacked boxes when we first moved in before becoming the library/dining room swiftly degenerated into a cupboard (with additional garage option) and now contains a couple of car seats for good measure, removed from their normal site in order to be able to fit a couple of wardrobes into the car, which we know to be theoretically possible as we'd fitted a couple of larger wardrobes into the same car when it was owned by Nicky's parents. With the addition of the wingpiglet and the need for his seat to be attached to one of the rear seats there was no room for me (on the previous wardrobe-fetching trip I'd been lying in the boot in order to allow all the non-driving seats to be flattened), which suited me fine as it meant I could cycle to Ikea then back via the bike shop for a poke around the sale and thence via Maplin to get some battery adaptors for the thing which is strapped to the bars of Edgar's cot to distract him when he starts developing thoughts about wanting to be awake during the night. As I was encumbered by quite a large box containing the bike-shop-sale-sourced workstand (which I had imagined would have been sold in an easily-tied-on collapsed-and-bagged form) I tried the cycle path instead of the road, finding it to be mostly free from ice but compromised to some extent by over-enthusiastic gritting, better than the no gritting whatsoever the paths have been subjected to so far this winter but still enough to make me think the road would have been massively quicker, despite my encumberance. The reduced visibility wouldn't have been so good but on the few bits of road I did pass along I was given much more space than usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.