Dr. J's Day

By JaniceNgan

Cassis - day 2

I was craving crepes for breakfast, but had to settle for croissants and a baguette. C'est la vie....

We walked to get our scooter rental, then hit the weekly market right at the base of our hotel. We bought everything in site: baguette, cheese (chevre, bleu, tomme), olives, bouchettes (anchovy wrapped olives), stuffed grape leaves, seafood salad, sausage, tomatoes (the best tomatoes i have ever eaten), italian muscat grapes, marinated garlic. We also bought a half bottle of chardonnay for our picnic.

We went up to the calanques via the rue des cretes and it was one of the best moments of our trip . The warm sun beating down, (this picture was one of many taken while hanging off the back to the scooter), the smell of fresh rosemary permeating the air and going on an adventure with my favorite person. I will remember this moment forever.

Stopped off at a little scenic spot on our drive to eat and enjoy the gorgeous surroundings. After a little more driving, we found our destination. We hiked around and took some amazing pictures. We found out a week before our trip that our close friends S&S got engaged up in calanques of Cassis! And I managed to get "unengaged" there. We went for a dip in the Mediterranean sea, and as I was clamoring down into to cold blue water, waves splashing up, my rings got snagged on a rock and I realized that I lost the sapphire from my tension set engagement ring. But now the waters are bluer with the sapphire.

After some sunning and swimming, we scooted back down to the Jardin d'Emile for some beers (where S&S had dinner after they got engaged). On the way back to our hotel for our daily nap, we stopped off for some gelato. Jer got the strawberry & chocolate banana, and I got the nougat and pistachio (some of my favorite flavors, if I had to choose).

Finished off our memorable day with dinner at le Perroquet. We had some sangria, and then a bottle of rose. I had the 'salade foie de vollaile' and Jer had the 'salade oceane'. Then he had a pizza, while I had a seafood pasta.

Yet another fabulous, fabulous day.

**back blip**

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.