Boxing, Dipping, Potting

Travelled down to Hartlepool to visit the family, hoping to see my nieces taking part in the traditional Boxing Day Dip. We missed the moment when hundreds of people plunged into the cold grey North Sea, but we saw the shivering aftermath. I've agreed to do it next year, if my brother will. What was I thinking?

The event takes place at Seaton Carew, which is where (as UK blippers will know) this man faked his own death. It seems that, long before he owned the house where he was hiding out, I used to go to parties there! It really was a complete rabbit warren of a place.

In the afternoon, there was time for a couple of games of snooker and a pint or two at my dad's club, before a frenzy of exchanging presents. Later, I stayed up to watch The Big Lebowski for the first time (I've been meaning to see it for ages). What a brilliant film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.