Comfort

Feeling better, but still not 100%, so didn't venture out of the flat at all. I felt able to abandon my nest on the sofa but still felt a bit shivery at times, so roused out this venerable jacket from the mending bag.

I knitted it mostly from spare wool back in about 1985, after attending a talk by Kaffe Fassett and getting his first book (it's his pattern but my colours). It was so comfortable and warm and I wore it almost to destruction. I'm not sure that I can rescue it actually - there are some sizable holes (eg, see just above right cuff). Maybe I'll knit a new one, it would make a nice change from the series of Shetland baby shawls.

The old one seems to have taken on the role of a comfort blanket; it was extremely satisfying to wear, even in its tattered state. I may keep it for use in future attacks of the lurgy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.