Sal, Soul Sister.

By sally

An Evening of Macabre

Mom likes to do this thing on every 'special' day where she asks us all to report on our favorite or first memory dealing with either that day, or the person honored on that day. I can't stand this tradition--usually. This Christmas, however, I rather enjoyed her tale and accompanying prop.

When she was young her parents brought this special bride doll out to her grandparents' house, keeping her hidden in a suitcase for the 'looooong' journey. Obviously Mom treasured the doll throughout the years as evidenced by her receding hairline and torn and tattered dress--she even has a smudge that resembles a bloody tear.

Today we celebrated the unnamed bride and appropriately ate dinner around her little cold body. We had a good laugh with a mini photo-shoot and they all suggested I figure a way to work her into my film. Perhaps I'll make a doll-zombie thriller next.


(eighty is among my favorite numbers)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.