Linda's Blips

By Enya

Tree Surgeon

Climbing tree was something I loved to do when I was a kid....until I hung from a branch from entwined fingers and got stuck for what felt like hours. The longer you hang the tighter your arms squeeze against your face so shouting is almost an impossibility with an elongated "O" shaped mouth.. I suddenly had a ventriloquist type voice speaking in perfect BBC English saying, "aimm stok op hair in thar treeeee.............. heeelp!"
My dad came I stood on his shoulders and unclasped my hands and was helped down.......He said "why did you put on that silly voice?" Difficult to explain as I didn't really know why...........I have always spoken with a good old "Clog and Shawl" accent ever since.
So pretentiousness doesn't impress anyone not even when you are hanging from trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.