The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Mostly (Poetry) Buttons

Worked on my calendar schedules for the next couple of months... Lots of To-Do lists once again, and reminders of the several programs and events looming. This will be a very busy spring semester. I had two cookies instead of one after dinner, at the very thought!

Then there's the annual AWP Conference, which is being held in Washington, DC early in February (thank goodness, not too far afield so I am hoping transportation costs won't hurt too much).

The AWP has always been a festive and hugely busy affair, with only about a million writers from all over the country per square inch on and about the premises (or so it seems). There are a gazillion panels on writing and publishing to attend, as well as on- and off-site readings, book signings, and other related events. The gLit(t)erati are there in the spotlight, and the rest of us listen and even come away awed.

Our MFA Creative Writing Program will have a table at the massive bookfair hall, where we'll get to hand out program promotion stuff and recruit support and submissions for our just under a year old electronic journal, Barely South Review. And I will be in two panels, so I must pencil in those preps, pronto!

*

Here is part of my button stash from several years of attending the AWP Conference and Bookfair; ours are the two that are sitting on the Pegasus figure.


* * *

Hey - can I do a tiny little half jig? I'm at 50 entries! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.