Midcentury Lass

By midcenturylass

The Beautiful Tyne Tees Shipping Company

My favourite thing in Newcastle. I drive along the Quayside every day to and from work, and often sit and stare at this beautiful sign whilst waiting at the traffic lights. It's even more gorgeous close up.

I try to imagine what it was like when that sign meant something, when Newcastle was dirty and full of hard industry, when the River Tyne was like the A1.

Newcastle is full of fantastic details, if you just look up, or down, or along alleyways. Details are the things that give a city soul. Details meant someone cared.

And I'm really into typography, industrial history, Victorian architecture, social history. And into causing traffic jams in my car at rush hour by staring at something no one else seems to notice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.