Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

Definitely *not* a toy.

Nope. Definitely not. Absolutely nothing to do with gear lust, or the addictive quality of that red ring and that little L...

This had to be done. I've got my first wedding coming up in February (did I mention that? I'm sure I did, a couple of hundred times, I'm very excited!) and I need a standard zoom. I'm very happy with my portrait lenses 85mm and 135mm, but my current wide-ish lens, the Sigma 24-60mm (which was absolutely pin sharp on my 400D) just doesn't seem to agree with my 5D. Probably needs some focus micro-adjustment but I've known for a while that the Canon 24-70mm f2.8L is the only way to go for weddings.

So I bought it. Have I justified it enough yet? No? I could have rented, but I have a feeling this will become my new workhorse, especially for group shots on family photoshoots and things like that. I might even try my hand at some landscapes again in my spare time.

Yep, a wise business decision... I just won't look at my bank balance for a while :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.