Plus ça change...

By SooB

Valentine Smile

Here's Conor at 4 weeks old, smiling away. He was always (and still is) a very smiley happy boy, despite suffering from terrible reflux. He started throwing up on day 3... and didn't stop until he was 13 months old. Every meal was thrown up, either in whole or part. Discouraging when you're the person shovelling it in.

Looking back, I can't believe I put up with it for so long. For all this time the health visitors were telling me this definitely wasn't reflux, as he was happy and not crying. This despite him actually losing weight. When we finally came to our senses and saw the doctor, the first consultant we saw gave us some medicine that didn't work. She left (luckily as it turned out) and the replacement consultant was absolutely wonderful. He gave us medicine that worked right from that day. And Conor's reflux was gone. Just like that. Makes me sad for all the growing he missed out on while he wasn't keeping enough food down, and for all the hours and hours I spent washing clothes that had been vomited on!

We still have the consequences now: he is smaller than he probably should be and has "a bad relationship with food". But he hasn't been sick on me for years, so that's something.

Ah, I feel better for venting that. If I ever meet those health visitors again I'll shake them till their pompous heads fall off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.