the experimentalist

By experimentalist

Here are a few of my favourite things

The problem with being a scientist, as a profession, is that (at least for me) there is a deep seated desire to find stuff out about the world. In the days of gentleman victorian scientists this (if you were relatively wealthy or well connected) was possible in the house's laboratory or wherever. Now it requires enormous infrastructure (at least in the area I work in) and money to pay people. It requires alot of dollar. It requires you to write applications to raise this money.the success rate might only be 10%. so if you can't get the money your research stops. End of story. This creates an internal angst in me because if you have an intrinsic desire to discover new things the inability to do so is very disheartening. But I wonder what would happen if I permanently stopped practising science and did other things. I tried once but lasted only 6 months before financial pressures led me back. Hmm.
So here I blip some things I love: japanese art (art in general too); Haruki Murakami novels; and books in general....but could I ever do good art that is moving and last, or write words that are worthy of reading never mind rereading by anyone?
What is my destiny? Should I believe in one?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.