Have Fun Today

By pqdsms

Torrey Pines State Beach

Just before sunset, the sun came out from beneath the clouds, coaxing these vivid colors out of the cliffs. This was another great day for photos and I'm sad I can only post one of them. A few more are up on flickr.com, so that's okay. One of the best things about blipfoto.com is its insistence on only one photo each day.

I took off in the middle of the afternoon after spending the morning and midday on class preparations. Drove into La Jolla to visit the Museum of Contemporary Art and take some photographs in their sculpture garden. I never made it to the sculptures, because (1) the exhibit inside was wonderful and (2) the ocean outside was beautiful. I also wanted to go find the two new murals in La Jolla, which turned out also to be quite beautiful. On the way home, I took a detour to Torrey Pines and parked there for a while to let the traffic subside a bit. Better walking at the beach than sitting in traffic. This photo came from my walk on the beach. After the sun disappeared into the Pacific, the traffic was still pretty bad, so I stopped for dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, Roberto's in Del Mar. The carnitas burritos there are among the best "sandwiches" in town. Finally home, I'm back to class preparation. The semester starts on Monday. I'm sure there will be many days in the next few weeks where I wish I could use some of the photos I needed to reject for today's posting. I chose this one because the colors were so stunning. Another one of my favorite things about blipfoto.com is moving my cursor over the thumbnails on the main page. I'm often pleasantly surprised at what colors appear. This photo should be fun because the orange of the cliffs contrasts so well with the plain grays of the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.