While on my runs

By waipushrink

Still water reflections

Another grey morning, but with the occasional bursting through of sun. Very humid, and by the time I write this (in our evening) we have had some real downpours, fortunately short. Ironically, just the day that the two Auckland based grandsons have come to stay for a couple of nights.

Made my way around and then down to the usual course along the path just above the beach at Snells. Very shortly after reaching the beach front, with the tide about half in, I saw lots of gulls in groups just above the water line. I was then attracted by this boat and its reflection and made my way down over the sand to get a good angle.

I got close enough to see three whitefaced heron were in the shallow water near the boat. I kept walking to get as close as possible, as the wee Panasonic camera I carry while on my runs has only a 4x zoom. Two of the heron walked off in another direction, of course. Had on my newest road shoes so I was opposed to getting into the mud or water, and this is as close as I could get.

There was almost no breeze, and the water comes in very slowly over the wide expanse of mudflat; it was therefore almost totally still. I am pleased with the reflections I got. I also like the sunlight bathing the fields up on the hills, and the peaceful aspect of the whole scene.

The boys have been energetic and full on all afternoon, and the younger is now asleep; H is getting ready to join him. Tomorrow is a day for the beach. The tide will be great at the little beach below us from about 11 am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.