Portsmouth and beyond...

By johnnyc1959

Methinkot VDC...

In addition to the Community Event that I referred to the other day, one of the other monthly activities undertaken by Sakriya Plus Nepal, (the project that I'm working with) is to go to one of the Village Development Committees (VDCs) within the Kavre District to run a specific programme aimed at reducing stigma & discrimination towards PLHAs.

The journey to Methinkot is around an hour on the bus, followed by a 25 minute walk. Something of an adventure for me, but less of an adventure if you're leaving the village to try and access medical care by the same (only)route. The wikepedia entry is a good indicator of Methinkot if you're interested

Without fail there's a good turnout from the village, as this photo shows. I don't like using flash because I think its really intrusive in this setting, but I really like the light in this one, and the fact that it shows a pretty good cross section of the demographics of the village...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.