Sunbeams

By Saffi

The marbled effect

Today is certainly a day to remain indoors as regards the weather. Here is something colourful for today's blip. A book I found whilst clearing out my uncle's house some years ago that belonged to my grandfather. I am ashamed to say I have not read it yet but it is definitely on my list! Isabel Morris wrote it in 1891 and it is entitled "A Summer in Kieff". What I especially like about the book so far is the half bound cover with the beautifully coloured marbled boards created by hand all those years ago.

Marbling became fashionable again in the Victorian era after Charles Woolnough exhibited some of his marbling work at the Crystal Palace Exhibition in 1851 and after he had published his book "The Art of Marbling". I don't know much about the method but I do know the colours are put onto an oil-based liquid and blown about. They are then carefully transferred onto the board or paper and drawn out by various implements to make the patterns. There are so many different colour mixtures and patterns it is a real art in itself and the Victorians were crazy about it. What trouble and pride they took in the making of their everyday objects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.