Me and Max

By grete

On Public Privacy. And Reality. And a Thanks.

Photography is private. Or, if not private, at least it is intimate. When I look into the viewfinder there exists only two parties: me - and the motif. The whole world could collapse around us, and there would still be just us. That is, the collapse would probably shake the camera, and might even bring onto the frame some unplanned elements. Still, these would be part of my motif, and therefore part of the intimacy.

This intimacy is in direct contrast to the next stage of photography - the viewing. Most of my photos are viewed by me only, some by me and my motif (unless, of course, they are Mr. and Mrs. Chair...), and some by my family, and/or friends. In this case, they are (hopefully) seen by an even larger community.

So the two - the making, and the viewing, are two completely different stages of a process. Does the second influence the first? Sometimes. And sometimes not. As with most things in life, there is no one rule.

This specific photo was taken with that second issue in mind, the viewer. I was walking around today, thinking of a friend. She is not part of the blip community, yet she finds the time to view my photos. Now and then she sends me encouraging words on mail. I am always surprised when I receive them. Because this friend is one I know from real life and not just from the virtual, I believe she exists. How weird is that, that I am so touched because I know she is human. Please don´t misunderstand, I appreciate all comments, but you could, theoretically, be part of some Matrix dream. I have never seen the film, but I imagine (ah, imagination again, perhaps even another layer of the Matrix dream, like a set of Russian dolls....) it is built around the myth of Platon´s cave and the notion of reality.

So this picture is for you Bente. Because of your words and your loyalty, Me and Max take even greater pleasure in our walkabouts..... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.