CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A learning curve

This is the first time I can honestly admit to an emergency blip moment. What little daylight there was today had gone. I have been easily sidetracked from several jobs I have stacked up.

I saw this wall-mounted vase in a dark space on the staircase, and thought if I moved it I could shine a light on it. So I did, and realised I have a lot to learn about lighting. But as I learn best by my mistakes, I already have some idea of what could be improved. So it has been worth the (small) effort tonight.

I found this vase lying on a sarong on a back street pavement stall in Kuala Lumpur in 1982, and bought it from its vendor. I was intrigued with its pretty colour and art nouveau ceramic style, which has a flat back to let it lie flush against a wall. On the back it has Chinese hieroglyphics, like a maker's mark, which suggests that it was made locally (in Asia) for the European or British colonial market.

I carried it in my backpack for about 8 months, as I wandered further south via Bali, to Australia. It flew back via Los Angeles to London, has been with me ever since and is still much loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.