Texas Life

By txlife

Cross the Brazos at Waco

The name of this blip is the name of one of my favorite Marty Robbins' songs. When Marty Robbins passed in 1981 or so, it was one of the few celebrity passings that actually choked me up some. His music had been a constant my whole life, and he's still one of my favorite performers. When people try to understand that 1) there's a difference between county music and western music and 2) what western music is, listening to Marty Robbins' discography is probably one of the better ways to understand western music.

I was in Waco yesterday, and will be there all next week for work, which is OK by me - I like Waco a bunch. Ineff, I'm even staying in a hotel right off the Baylor campus. The Brazos River runs through Waco, and is a wide, strong body of water. This is the Washington Avenue bridge as it passes over the Brazos River.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.